Shin Splint by Shin Lim

$9.95
Downloadable Video
Four Queens turn face-up in the hands, one by one, each in a more stunning manner than the last.

Stunning. We mean it. The way that third Queen appears when he turns the fan around? We were stunned. Doing our best goldfish impressions. Mouths agape, eyes wide open. The whole shebang.

Taking inspiration from Guy Hollingworth's 'Waving the Queens,' ShinSplint cranks the card-by-card inversion plot to overdrive.

Over 20 Minutes of detailed training from creator Shin Lim, (winner of multiple FISM, IBM and WMS awards) including multiple angles and picture-in-picture to ensure you don't miss a second of instruction for this highly visual effect.

• Totally Impromptu
• Use a borrowed deck
• No Gaffs required
• Sleight-of-hand card magic at its best
• Instant Reset
• Shot in crystal-clear HD
• Inspired by James Chadier's "Fan Change"

Format: Download
Difficulty: Intermediate
Run-time: 22 minutes


Credit to the following camera operators: Jason Nelken, En Lim, Brian McQueen.

Customer Reviews

10 review(s)

1-10 of 27

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  • by Riley Siegler

    Apr 2014

    This is a fantastic trick and is worth every cent. For those of you who might not buy this trick because it is hard to master, buy it. It is fun t practice and easy to learn but hard to do it well. If you are just starting magic, maybe by this another time. If you are a good magician, get this trick immedietley.
  • by Owen Eastwood

    Aug 2013

    I love the actual effect, however the method is extremely difficult even for a seasoned card magician. It took me about 6 hours all in all before I had it perfectly.

    I can't criticize the effect itself, however there should be two changes on the description here. Firstly the difficulty should be set to the highest and also ellusionist should remove "Use a borrowed deck" because in most cases I've found a borrowed deck wont do for the handling to be precise.
  • by Eli Greene

    May 2013

    Very very difficult to learn, but will make you look like a pro if you can master it. Such a sneaky trick.
  • by zach mudie

    Feb 2013

    Great trick but needs a lot of practice to get the handling down. Be prepared to send a few hours on this one.
  • by Jonathan Holst

    Jan 2013

    WARNING: This is high impact magic. This is a very sneaky and brilliant trick, and Shin Lim does a decent job explaining it. It is a little frustrating at first, but you will gradually get the hang of it. There are some sneaky sleight of hand tricks that can even be used in other tricks, and best of all it really is completely impromptu. If you do not already own this trick, I would highly recommend buying it. It is very cool and clean and can be used to impress virtually anyone. Good job, Shin Lim.
  • by Dan Fast

    Jan 2013

    After practicing the moves shown in this video, I've found some difficulty as a newcomer to these moves that somebody who's practiced these moves for a while would obviously overcome. The instructor has overcome these difficulties and in my opinion has neglected to point on these problem areas that new omers to these moves will have.

    For instance, the main move, fanning the cards, holding the cards in left hand mechanics and fanning them to the right with the thumb, the bottom left corners always stay together but when starting out its hard to keep those corners together because they want to push off as if your dealing, not fanning. The instructor doesn't explain specifically HOW to grip to allow the fan, he just says do it.

    I'm sure with more Practice I'll get it, but it could have been explained better. Overall I love this trick, but for a tutorial, it could have been taught a bit better in a couple of areas.

    [Ellusionist's Reply: Dan - absolutely understand what you're saying, however this is an advanced trick. The sleights presented - like the spread fan, is assumed knowledge.]
  • by Chris Coulsting

    Jan 2013

    Basically as has been said, this can look amazing but will take extensive practice to pull off convincingly. Nice effect to put in-between bigger tricks as a lead in/out. Impressive, but probably not for beginners.
  • by Fenjamin Fillings

    Jan 2013

    Good trick, requires larger hands, but the effect is worth the price, 100%.
  • by Brandon White

    Dec 2012

    A bit tricky at first, then the rest just flows. Spectators love it!
  • by Christian Coulombe

    Aug 2012

    Been practicing the move for several weeks to smooth out the handling and some of the moves, like the very first fanning is extremely difficult maybe due to the size of hand/finger that I have. So far I need to make the faning with the subtle help of the right thumb so that it come out clean. I also got some hand cream to have a better grip on the cards. THis is helping a bit more.
    Routine is very good however, Good job to Shin.
    I would encourage other Pros' selling their work to actually invest in good video production, using good sound and real cameraman.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Shin Splint by Shin Lim

Close

WIN A MILLION DOLLARS!


DECKS STUFFED WITH CASH

FREE GIFTS WITH YOUR ORDER

Learn How