Choose an Option

$29.95 each

Customer reviews

Quality

Based on 26 review(s)

A Note from Peter McKinnon


This DVD is something I originally, never intended to put out. I had a lot of these little things written down in an old leather notebook just tucked away on my book shelf, waiting for a chance, that perfect moment to present themselves.

I perform them regularly, but have never shown them to more than a handful of very close friends. Once thinking about the idea of releasing these to the community, I started shifting towards print. There is something about the written word that I love and always come back too.

However, Upon several Skype conversations with the Ellusionist team, and test driving some of the effects in Los Angeles this past summer, it occurred to me they HAVE to be put to DVD. There is no way I will be able to translate just how visual some of these pieces are with words- It HAS to be seen.

Inside you will find 6 pieces of magic in the form of routines, sleights and flourishes. Magic with finger rings, magic with neck ties and of course, playing cards.

Scattered throughout several of the routines are then variations based on those routines - I go into plenty of detail explaining every single nuance of every corner and crevasse these effects have to offer. With a run time of over an hour of instruction and performance, I invite you to step inside that once forgotten leather notebook, and get ready for an influx of visual magic.


On The DVD


  • • Pandora - Pete's favorite effect from this DVD. A card is genuinely selected from a shuffled deck, the deck put aside and the card put back in the box and the whole thing is handed back to the spectator to hold. Instantly, the card has vanished - only to appear in the performer's back pocket, inside his hat, stuck to the back of the box - or wherever else he wants.

  • • Pantheon - A Ring is placed onto the finger - and then slowly melts off with a rub. One further the rub, and the whole ring disappears. With a wave of the hand, the ring rematerialises back on the first finger. A modular routine that's a superb deviation from the 'common card trick'.

  • • Revelator - A quick flourishy production of a full fan of cards from a single card held at the fingertips

  • • Dragonfly 2.0 - From a free flourish & control given to Black Club Members comes this full transposition effect. A card inserted into the centre of the deck in a flourish swaps places with one clearly placed at the bottom of the deck.

  • • Suit Up - A Necktie appears in the action of taking off a hat. An opener that breaks the ice, like a Sir.

  • • Breakdown - As seen on the Infinity, Artifice, LTD, ShadowMaster and BlackGhost trailers - it's the flourish Pete has been inundated with requests to teach. On this DVD - he finally.. uh.. breaks it down.

Back to Main Product Info

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 20 of 26 total Add Your Review
  1. 1
  2. 2
Show per page
  1. by Rahul Oberoi

    Jul 8, 2015

    One of the best magic dvds ever produced! Pete did a great great job on it, with a lot of detail and in depth tutorials. Amazing!

  2. by Kyle Hedrick

    Apr 27, 2014

    One word to describe this DVD. Awesome! Pandora is my favorite trick on the DVD. Peter McKinnon needs to release more crazy stuff like this. Buy LS&R and his Riot Collection! You will not regret it.

  3. by peeter paju

    Feb 4, 2014

    One of the best magic DVD I know. I use it almost everyday. Thanks Peter Mckinnon!

  4. by Thomas Wong

    Jan 14, 2014

    Very well done, had a great experience with this product. It teaches you so many amazing tricks that are so simple. Definitely worth every penny.

  5. by Richard Brealey

    Jan 10, 2014

    Very cool DVD, the stuff you learn is well taught and looks awesome when you perform it. Overall very enjoyable to watch and learn, definitely a good buy!

  6. by Mango Quackers

    Dec 30, 2013

    This dvd was EXACTLY what I needed!!! There is easily something for everybody on here.

    Pandora - Perfect finisher for ambitious card, or even as a standalone trick.

    Pantheon - Amazing ring trick! Works beautifully with Divorce by Justin Miller. It was exactly what I needed to finish my ring routine.

    Revelator - Great little flourish for impressing one or two people. Lead in to a more personal routine.

    Dragonfly 2.0 - Very clever. Great trick if you carry dupes around like me.

    Suit Up - Great quick-change! Most of my spectators have figured it out, however, paired with Dresscode by Calen Morrelli it can be very powerful.

    Breakdown - Nice little flourish. not that difficult. Once mastered (which doesn't take very long), it looks very good.

    Overall, I am very impressed by this dvd, It definitely has something for everybody on it.

  7. by William Chow

    Dec 27, 2013

    i love this guy and the way he gets on with things. Very fun to watch and learn. Great teachings, nothing to hard, great DVD for beginners/pros etc. I highly recommend, i dont normally wear hats, let alone bowler hats, but now i might have to. Peter McKinnon, threat yourself to icecream for this wonderful collection of magic.

  8. by R.J. Daniel

    Dec 26, 2013

    P.M really should have more dvd's out. This is a great mix of tricks which is always a good thing when you can only get one dvd for awhile. It has a little of every and P.M is a fun teacher and one of the few magicians willing to give out his email to answer your questions. Bottom line Lock stock and riot is a must buy.

  9. by R.J. Daniel

    Dec 26, 2013

    P.M really should have more dvd's out. This is a great mix of tricks which is always a good thing when you can only get one dvd for awhile. It has a little of everything and P.M is a fun teacher and one of the few magicians willing to give out his email to answer your questions. Bottom line Lock stock and riot is a must buy.

  10. by Tim

    Dec 26, 2013

    the best product on the ellusionist website. the perfect mix of different types of magic, ring/cards/flourishes,etc. i look forward to many more bundles of magic like this from ellusionist.
    pete's instructions are engaging, funny, clear and easy to follow. extremely high quality production and nothing too difficult. has my recommendation x1000, BUY THIS!

  11. by Matthew Whittaker

    Dec 26, 2013

    I like it. Not sure what more to say there. Peter has his unique style of having fun while teaching and the tricks are fun ones to do. I would definitely advise you to pick this one up.

  12. by Connor George

    Dec 4, 2013

    I'm a huge fan of Peter McKinnon, this DVD is unreal, I've practised Pantheon so much since I've bought it I am now doing it instinctively when I go to put a ring on. Peter is incredibly funny and engaging throughout the DVD, and he even convinced me to buy my first bowler hat.

  13. by Ben Falxon

    Dec 4, 2013

    The effects taught in this dvd are amazing. Peter goes in to great detail and makes sure you know exactly how to perform these.

  14. by Bailey Barker

    Nov 30, 2013

    A little bit of everything -- rings, cards, flourishes, weird neck tie tricks -- in this disc, and it's fantastic. Very cool tricks, and unique as well. I think ny favorite is pulling the card off of the box in Pandora, the spectators are so baffled when that happens. Five stars to Peter McKinnon, and a recommendation for Blackpool as well if you have yet to buy it. The booklet is on his website. All love and cards, adios.

  15. by Ben Bleustein

    Nov 27, 2013

    I'm still relatively new and had used original presentations until very recently. Peter does an exceptional job at providing detailed instructions and I've already used 2 or 3 effects extensively since purchasing the DVD. Also, he's a Riot, very funny guy.

  16. by James Ward

    Nov 27, 2013

    What can I say get this and learn some of the most easy to follow instructions and effects to add to your routine. Though I do very little sleight of hand I found some things in this to make me want to add some to my current gospel magic show. Well worth its price and very easy to follow what is taught.

  17. by Hudson Hufham

    Nov 25, 2013

    Like everyone said, it's hilarious. I thought of giving 4 stars just because I can only see myself really using two of the effects and the flourish (which is very cool) but Peter's teaching is amazing so I give 5 Stars.

  18. by Jay Garcia

    Nov 23, 2013

    I just finished watching the DVD & it was totally freaking AWESOME!!! Peter teaches very well he's also funny which makes it way easier to learn.....the effects are simply amazing just like real magic!! Totally buy the DVD you won't regret it.

  19. by mike t

    Nov 21, 2013

    This was such a great video. The tricks are great and well explained, and peter is just an all around funny guy. It's better when you can learn some new hotness while laughing every now and then.

  20. by Matt Martinez

    Nov 21, 2013

    These are 6 amazing effects, and Peter is a fantastic teacher. He is so goofy and entertaining to watch. I was expecting a serious and dramatic DVD like a DM effect. But no Peter is so happy and excited, it makes learning so much fun.

Items 1 to 20 of 26 total Add Your Review
  1. 1
  2. 2
Show per page

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Lock Stock & Riot by Peter McKinnon