$7 each

Downloadable Video

Customer reviews


Based on 31 review(s)

Praxis. noun.
Practice, as distinguished from theory. The application or use of knowledge or skills.

Chris Ramsay knows the meaning of the word Praxis. To create this devastating sleight, he started with three simple words ‘I wonder if…’ and from those words, a card production was reversed and four genius uses for a single control were born.

Peek. Steal. Sandwich. Control.

Building on inspiration from Jerry Andrus and Jack Carpenter, Chris Ramsay teaches a utility sleight that has multiple, real-world applications - a sleight that you will use because of its practicality, effectiveness and subtlety.

This is Praxis.

Format: Download
Difficulty: Intermediate
Run Time: 28 Minutes

Back to Main Product Info

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 20 of 31 total Add Your Review
  1. 1
  2. 2
Show per page
  1. by Anthony LaMonica

    Sep 16, 2015

    The control itself is not hard, but some of the angles are tricky but if you practice with a mirror it's not hard to get past that.

  2. by Justin Pillard

    Jul 8, 2014

    I personally love the Praxis control because of how it appeals to me. The movement that is portrayed to the audience appears natural and fair. That is what I like about this control. With other controls the movements are to complicated and take about a minute or so to complete, and other controls might tend to change the order, such as cuts or shifts. But with the Praxis control it is simply, "Touch a card, show the card, and control the card." There is even an alternate handling of Praxis that is done in a very nonchalant and simple way just as the original. Made for who Chris refers to as, "Move Monkeys". And with the Peek, Steal, Sandwhich, Control applications this move becomes a must for any card worker out there. Chris's in depth detail and multiple angles upon the move make it so incredibly easy to understand that upon the first day I had the mechanics down, by the first week I had the Control down, then fast-forward one month later, I had all four applications down and was loving the move and even discovering more new possibilities along with it! So, for $7.00, just get it and use it to its full capability, which is to completely and utterly baffle anyone you may come across and show it to. And to Ellusionist along with Chris Ramsay, thank you so much for posting awesome, baffling, and such creative material like this. Keeps me inspired! Thank you.

  3. by Alvin Huynh

    Jun 19, 2014

    Everyone else has already pointed out the positive value of this so I'll just highlight what to look out for.

    It is slightly angle sensitive. You'll need a little bit of crowd control, but the effort to do so is minimal unless you got rowdy audience members.

    The move is a bit knacky. Easy to do once you practice it for a while.

    When the audience is picking a card, you need to force them to pick within a certain range through the deck. I'll leave it at that.

    This sleight requires a bit more subtle actions outside of the sleight to make it very powerful. Crowd control, smooth performance without unnecessary movements or explanations, I would say the intermediate rating is appropriate.

  4. by Otto may

    Jun 4, 2014

    This tutorial is way better than I had thought it would be. The move is simple and uses a knacky concept although after a decent amount of practise you should be able to get this move down. This is a great move and one that I highly recommend adding to your ACR

  5. by wayne britchford

    Mar 18, 2014

    The move itself is super cool,I am a beginner and it took me a little near a week to do properly and now I can do it no problem,the video itself is very informative,camera angles are good too and the teaching and extras to this are excellent..

    A must buy for all you beginners and experts around that want to add more moves to your arsenal...

  6. by Matt Considine

    Mar 15, 2014

    A must get. A very smart move that isn't hard but isn't easy and will take practice. So useful and truly amazing. One of my best purchases from ellusionist and easily earns a 5 star rating

  7. by Lukas Dohmen

    Mar 9, 2014

    Simply amazing. Well taught. easy to understand but hard to master. It is really knacky and takes a lot of practice to master. But as soon as it is second nature you won't encounter any more difficulties. Absolutely worth it.

  8. by Naman

    Mar 4, 2014

    Praxis is such an amazing move! It says the level is intermediate but is easily nailed with persistent practice. The teaching is great, I was able to understand everything that Chris Ramsay said. Amazing move, must buy! Great job Chris Ramsay!

  9. by Jackson Downs

    Mar 3, 2014

    As a control there are much better ones out there. Using it as a steal or a peek it is second to none. This one is definitely for the devoted.

  10. by Ben Falxon

    Mar 1, 2014

    This move is very useful, but it is a little knacky. that's the only reason its 4 stars but the move itself is amazing and worth 5 because of all the applications.

  11. by Corey Werber

    Feb 26, 2014

    This is a pretty cool control for the move monkeys out there (like me.) I don't use the peek or the sandwich, but i like the control and steal. It will take a bit of practice, but is pretty sweet once you get it down.

  12. by Shaan Sarkar

    Feb 24, 2014

    I love this control! For me, it's easy to master. I use it mostly for the ambitious card routine. Sometimes I just use it to show the move off. Awesome control Chris!

  13. by Aidan McShane

    Feb 22, 2014

    This is a great card control. It is knacky and will take a while to master but is worth the money. The teaching is excellent, Chris teaches multiple applications for the move in detail.

  14. by Christopher Moore

    Feb 20, 2014

    Praxis is a very well-taught control with a lot of possibilities. I use this in conjunction with another control when I can't get out of a situation where someone is demanding to see a trick again and I need to switch it up a bit so they don't get wise.

  15. by Abraham Sanchez

    Feb 10, 2014

    This it's a great download, the explanation is detailed, and the control is so good.

  16. by Magic Sam

    Jan 30, 2014

    I liked Ramsay's nickname for himself, Move Monkey. The instructions were clear and detailed. I was grabbing a deck before I could finish the video. This move is for the devoted and will take practice to put to use. As such I have not used it in a performance. I do see potential for it in my Ambitious Card routine. For now it stays in the practice set.

  17. by joe flannery

    Jan 20, 2014

    The second i saw this kick ass trailer i pressed add to cart. Watched the tutorial, very detailed teaching and i love that it gives you some ways of applying the Praxis control. It's an ingenious move that i'm very proud to add to my repertoire. Thanks Chris and Thanks Ellusionist

  18. by Peter P.

    Jan 19, 2014

    WOW! Just when I thought my card magic couldn't get any better, I came across this. This i my first Ellusionist purchase and my first experience with Chris Ramsay! He is a tremendous performer, and his explanations are clear and concise, not to mention this amazing sleight he has created! This will NOT be my last Ellusionist purchase ! Thanks Chris!

  19. by Vincent Pimparé

    Jan 19, 2014

    I've seen Praxis grow from an idea to this fabulous tutorial and devastating sleight. All the time put into Praxis will repay for itself and you'll have a handy versatile tool that fools the best magicians around.

    Chris Ramsay teaches all the details of this wonderfully baffling move in a concise and cover-it-all session. He did a fantastic job with this first offering to the magic community and we can now expect his future works to be only just as fun, mindboggling and fresh.

  20. by ZackwasHere

    Jan 19, 2014

    An awesome control with a little practice i guarantee you'll be using it all the time! he goes into great depth with the handling of the move, and teaches a few tricks to use with it. some of the tricks might be a little knacky for some people but the control is a must have!

Items 1 to 20 of 31 total Add Your Review
  1. 1
  2. 2
Show per page

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Praxis Control by Chris Ramsay



Get rare decks, tricks, and special items...

See How