Praxis Control by Chris Ramsay

$8
Downloadable Video
Praxis. noun.
Practice, as distinguished from theory. The application or use of knowledge or skills.


Chris Ramsay knows the meaning of the word Praxis. To create this devastating sleight, he started with three simple words ‘I wonder if…’ and from those words, a card production was reversed and four genius uses for a single control were born.

Peek. Steal. Sandwich. Control.

Building on inspiration from Jerry Andrus and Jack Carpenter, Chris Ramsay teaches a utility sleight that has multiple, real-world applications - a sleight that you will use because of its practicality, effectiveness and subtlety.

This is Praxis.

Format: Download
Difficulty: Intermediate
Run Time: 28 Minutes

Customer Reviews

10 review(s)

1-10 of 31

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  • by Anthony LaMonica

    Sep 2015

    The control itself is not hard, but some of the angles are tricky but if you practice with a mirror it's not hard to get past that.
  • by Justin Pillard

    Jul 2014

    I personally love the Praxis control because of how it appeals to me. The movement that is portrayed to the audience appears natural and fair. That is what I like about this control. With other controls the movements are to complicated and take about a minute or so to complete, and other controls might tend to change the order, such as cuts or shifts. But with the Praxis control it is simply, "Touch a card, show the card, and control the card." There is even an alternate handling of Praxis that is done in a very nonchalant and simple way just as the original. Made for who Chris refers to as, "Move Monkeys". And with the Peek, Steal, Sandwhich, Control applications this move becomes a must for any card worker out there. Chris's in depth detail and multiple angles upon the move make it so incredibly easy to understand that upon the first day I had the mechanics down, by the first week I had the Control down, then fast-forward one month later, I had all four applications down and was loving the move and even discovering more new possibilities along with it! So, for $7.00, just get it and use it to its full capability, which is to completely and utterly baffle anyone you may come across and show it to. And to Ellusionist along with Chris Ramsay, thank you so much for posting awesome, baffling, and such creative material like this. Keeps me inspired! Thank you.
  • by Alvin Huynh

    Jun 2014

    Everyone else has already pointed out the positive value of this so I'll just highlight what to look out for.

    It is slightly angle sensitive. You'll need a little bit of crowd control, but the effort to do so is minimal unless you got rowdy audience members.

    The move is a bit knacky. Easy to do once you practice it for a while.

    When the audience is picking a card, you need to force them to pick within a certain range through the deck. I'll leave it at that.

    This sleight requires a bit more subtle actions outside of the sleight to make it very powerful. Crowd control, smooth performance without unnecessary movements or explanations, I would say the intermediate rating is appropriate.
  • by Otto may

    Jun 2014

    This tutorial is way better than I had thought it would be. The move is simple and uses a knacky concept although after a decent amount of practise you should be able to get this move down. This is a great move and one that I highly recommend adding to your ACR
  • by wayne britchford

    Mar 2014

    The move itself is super cool,I am a beginner and it took me a little near a week to do properly and now I can do it no problem,the video itself is very informative,camera angles are good too and the teaching and extras to this are excellent..

    A must buy for all you beginners and experts around that want to add more moves to your arsenal...
  • by Matt Considine

    Mar 2014

    A must get. A very smart move that isn't hard but isn't easy and will take practice. So useful and truly amazing. One of my best purchases from ellusionist and easily earns a 5 star rating
  • by Lukas Dohmen

    Mar 2014

    Simply amazing. Well taught. easy to understand but hard to master. It is really knacky and takes a lot of practice to master. But as soon as it is second nature you won't encounter any more difficulties. Absolutely worth it.
  • by Naman

    Mar 2014

    Praxis is such an amazing move! It says the level is intermediate but is easily nailed with persistent practice. The teaching is great, I was able to understand everything that Chris Ramsay said. Amazing move, must buy! Great job Chris Ramsay!
  • by Jackson Downs

    Mar 2014

    As a control there are much better ones out there. Using it as a steal or a peek it is second to none. This one is definitely for the devoted.
  • by Ben Falxon

    Mar 2014

    This move is very useful, but it is a little knacky. that's the only reason its 4 stars but the move itself is amazing and worth 5 because of all the applications.

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Praxis Control by Chris Ramsay

Close

WIN A MILLION DOLLARS!


DECKS STUFFED WITH CASH

FREE GIFTS WITH YOUR ORDER

Learn How